The first six books of the OT, often regarded together as a theological unity in contrast to the more usually discussed Pentateuch, the first five books, commonly called the Law of Moses. It is in the sixth book that the promise made in the first book is finally sealed: under Joshua the Israelites take possession of Canaan. Some NT scholars who have emphasized the typological parallels in the gospel of Matthew with the OT notice that the correspondence is with the OT books Genesis (to which the Matthean birth narrative corresponds) to Joshua (where the entry into the Promised Land is the ‘type’ of Jesus' Resurrection).

The OT narrative itself consists of the accounts of God's gifts to Israel alternating with God's commands—the Law—to whom Israel was in duty bound to respond under the leadership of God's chosen servants, Abraham, Moses, and Joshua.