the works, written in the Hebrew language (with a few short Aramaic sections), that are accepted as Scripture in Judaism. Thus, although Sirach, for instance, exists for the most part in Hebrew as well as Greek, it is included in the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books, not in the Hebrew Scriptures, because Judaism does not regard it as canonical. The traditional Jewish order of the Hebrew Scriptures divides the books into three sections: Torah, Nevi'im, Kethubim—the “law” or teachings, the prophets, and the writings (see Prologue to Sirach). Torah (see) is the first five books. The prophets are divided into Former Prophets: Joshua, Judges, Samuel, and Kings; and the Latter Prophets: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve (Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi). The writings contain all the rest: Psalms, Proverbs, Job, Song of Solomon, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, Esther, Daniel, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Chronicles. See “The Nature and Formation of the Biblical Canon” on p. 26.